The Beginning
The
Beulah Church had its beginning in the community of Nineveh. The people of
Nineveh traveled some six miles to the Lichty United Evangelical Church, located
close to Geiger, to worship. They went by horse and buggy, on foot or by horseback.
In 1885, a large revival service was held at the Lichty Church. Those attending
from the area of Nineveh became inspired and decided to build their own local
church. The framing for the one-room church began with great enthusiasm in
1886. The ground for the building was donated by Jacob Stern. The cost was
approximately $3,000 for the building and inside furnishings. Services were
held in the building before it was finished. In 1887, the Church was dedicated
as the Beulah Evangelical Church.
The Evangelical Church and the United Brethren in Christ Church united to
become the Evangelical United Brethren Church. So on November 16, 1946, the
Beulah Evangelical Church became known as the Beulah Evangelical United Brethren
Church.
1961 Addition
Through
the years the membership increased, and the wooden one-room church becme too
small for seven classes and all the members. In 1950 a building fund was started
for a new church building. In July 1957, a congregational meeting was held
for the purpose of hearing the plans for a new church and to appoint members
for a building committee.
A ground-breaking service was held on June 18, 1961 for a new church building.
The cost of the 38' x 56' church building was $35,000. The laying of the cornerstone
was performed by Rev. A. Dean Wilson, pastor, November 12, 1961. The first
service in the "new" church was held on February 11, 1962. It started
in the old building, then the pastor led the congregation into the new church.
The old church building was torn down in April 1962. The new church was dedicated
on May 6, 1962.
In 1871, the Evangelical Association voted to unite or join the Methodist
Church, but the union was not possible at that time. Many years later,
a plan came about for the merger of the Evangelical United Brethren church
and the Methodist Church. In April 1968, these two groups merged to become
the United Methodist Church. Thus, the Beulah Evangelical United Brethren
Church in 1968 became the Beulah United Methodist Church.
1991 Addition
The
Sunday School and Church attendance continued to increase, along with new
ideas to promote and maintain spiritual growth. Fund raising events, offerings
and contributions made the Building Fund treasury grow to a level where it
became feasible to enlarge the church. The Building Committee held a meeting
with the Western Pennsylvania Conference Committee on April 13, 1989. Plans
for an expansion for the church were approved. Church members also approved
the building and remodeling plans. On April 23, 1990, ground was broken for
the construction of a 37' x 50' addition. This new addition increased the
sanctuary size and added a new classroom. A room for the pastor's study was
also built. The enlargement of the basement included the construction of six
new classrooms and increased the size of the fellowship hall area. An outdoor
ramp was built and indoor facilities to accommodate the handicapped were installed.
The last worship service with holy communion was held in the original sanctuary
on July 8, 1990.
God has blessed the people of Beulah over the years and His presence is felt
still as the ministry of the church grows. Truly Beulah United Methodist is
an extension of God's Love as it reaches into the community and uses its facilities
for the glory of God.
|